Shadeene Evans claims top honour at the rebel Female Football Awards

Shadeene Evans from Sydney FC received the prestigious rebel Role Model Award at the rebel Female Football Awards, held at the Ivy in Sydney this morning. 

Shadeene was a member of the Sydney FC team that won the Westfield W-League 2019 championship and dedicates a significant amount of her personal time working within indigenous and female football communities.

She has recently completed a residential program at UNSW to further her education in the social services space and will feature heavily in the club’s community initiatives now and into the future. 

The rebel Role Model Award recognises excellence both on and off the pitch. The selected player’s influence on the game extends beyond her professional playing capacities, with a focus on community.

This player embodies what it takes to be a professional footballer; someone who is not only dedicated on the pitch, but also supports and encourages growth of the game at all levels within the community.

The winner is selected based on good sportsmanship and attitude, must have played for a Westfield W-League Club during the 2018/19 season and must be under 21 at the start of the season.

Football Federation Australia (FFA) Chief Executive Officer James Johnson congratulated Shadeene and all the award winners presented this morning for their outstanding contributions to football in Australia.

“Shadeene is a very worthy winner of the rebel Role Model Award, for her hard work and commitment both on and off the field. She truly is an inspirational woman, and someone with the power and personality to drive significant change in women’s football in this country, but especially for football in our regional and indigenous communities.” he said

“In this new era for football, the opportunities for significant growth in the women and girls’ game are obvious, and we’re off to a flying start with our census data, released on Wednesday, showing an 11% increase in female participation over the past twelve months.”

“There is a lot of work still to do but we are committed to making sure that football is as open and as accessible as it can be by providing innovative offerings and services to our stakeholders, participants and fans.  We want to ensure that more Australians have more ways to enjoy and interact with our beautiful game.

“I congratulate all of today’s winners at the rebel Female Football Awards, and look forward to continuing to celebrate the role of women in football during the coming year,”  concluded Johnson.

rebel female football round

In addition to the rebel Role Model, nine other rebel Female Football Week National Awards were announced this morning.

In the Member Federation Category, the Female Player of the Year was Sarah Denton from the Flinders Flames in Football South Australia; the Female Coach of the Year was Kelly Stirton, who coaches the Capital Football Women’s Cerebral Palsy Team; the Female Administrator of the Year was Stephanie Garner from Football West; the Female Referee of the Year was Lottie Cabassi-Power from the Far South Coast Association of Football NSW; and the Member Federation Male Champion of the Year was Dave McWilliam from the Mindil Aces Club in Football Northern Territory.

In the Hyundai A-League/Westfield W-League Category, the Female Coach of the Year was Catherine Cannuli from Western Sydney Wanderers FC; the Female Administrator of the Year was Robyn Connor from Wellington Phoenix, Amanda Wetzel from the Newcastle Jets received the Female Fan of the Year award; and the Hyundai A-League/Westfield W-League Male Champion of the Year was Dan Barrett from the Central Coast Mariners.

rebel Female Football Award Winners

Member Federation Category



Member Federation

Female Player of the Year

Sarah Denton

Flinders Flames, Football South Australia

Female Coach of the Year

Kelly Stirton

Capital Football

Female Administrator of the Year

Stephanie Garner

Football West

Female Referee of the Year

Lottie Cabassi-Power

Football South Coast, Football NSW

The Male Champion of the Year

Dave McWilliam

Mindil Aces, Football Northern Territory

Hyundai A-League/Westfield W-League Category




The Female Coach of the Year

Catherine Cannuli

Western Sydney Wanderers FC

The Female Administrator of the Year

Robyn Connor

Wellington Phoenix

The Female Fan of the Year

Amanda Wetzel

Newcastle Jets

The Male Champion of the Year

Dan Barrett

Central Coast Mariners

rebel Role Model Award

Shadeene Evans

Sydney FC